Site icon Fiscal Nepal

Govt publishes re-application for appointment of Sebon chairman

KATHMANDU: The selection committee has again requested the appointment of the chairman of the Nepal Securities Board, the regulatory body of capital markets.

Earlier 11 people had applied to become the president. However, the committee was dissolved saying that it was not possible to constitute a selection committee from the ministerial level.

After the new selection committee was constituted after the cabinet meeting, the process has started again. Despite the formation of the new committee, the appointment of the chairman was delayed due to a dispute between the finance ministry and the National Planning Commission over who would be the coordinator of the selection committee.

Vice President Vishwanath Poudel has been chosen as the coordinator of the new committee. The ministry has taken the process forward after Poudel himself was appointed the coordinator. The other members of the selection committee are Madhu Marasini, Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Dr. Jeevannath Dhital, former Chairman of the Nepal Stock Exchange.

Anil Paudel of Chitwan, Neeraj Giri, Executive Director of Securities and Exchange Board, Nawaz Adhikari, Deputy Executive Director of the Board and former Chairman of Insurance Committee and Chiranjeevi Chapgain, former Director of Nepal Rastra Bank have applied for the post.

Exit mobile version