Prime Minister Oli extends cabinet, Thakur-led JSP joins government

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has extended his Cabinet after Mahantha Thakur-led faction of the Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) joined the government today.

Prime Minister Oli has decided to appoint eight JSP leaders as ministers and two others as ministers of state. A ceremony to administer the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-appointed ministers is scheduled to take place at 8PM today.

Rajendra Mahato, Sharat Singh Bhandari, Anil Kumar Jha, Laxman Lal Karna, Chanda Chaudhary, Ekwal Miya, Bimal Shreevastav, Uma Shanker Argariya, Renuka Gurung and Chandra Kanta Chaudhary are among those recommended by the JSP for the appointment of ministers.

Mahato has been given the Deputy Prime Minister and Urban Development Minister while Bhandari the Minister for Energy. Similarly, Anil Jha will be the Minister for Drinking Water and Sanitation and Laxman Lal Karna the Minister for Land Management and Cooperatives.

Similarly, Bimal Shreevastav will be inducted as Minister for Labor and Employment, Uma Shanker Agariya as Minister for Forest and Environment, Chanda Chaudhary as minister for Women, Children and Senior Citizens and Ekwal Miya as Minister for Youths and Sports in the Oli-led cabinet. Chandra Kanta Chaudhary and Renuka Gurung are being appointed as Minister of State for Energy and Minister of State for Women, Children and Senior Citizens, respectively.


Fiscal Nepal |
Friday June 4, 2021, 07:26:35 PM |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *