154 km Dhalkebar-Inaruwa Transmission Line Completed

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) has announced the completion of a 154 km stretch of the Dhalkebar-Inaruwa transmission line. This new 400 kV double-circuit line connects Dhalkebar in Dhanusha to Inaruwa in Sunsari, with 417 towers erected along the route.

This segment is a crucial part of the larger Hetauda-Dhalkebar-Inaruwa transmission line project under the Nepal-India Electricity Transmission and Trade Project. The line traverses ten districts—Makwanpur, Bara, Rautahat, Sarlahi, Mahottari, Dhanusha, Siraha, Saptari, Udayapur, and Sunsari—covering diverse terrains from the hills to the Terai regions.

The remaining 134 km Hetauda-Dhalkebar segment is still under construction, with 45 km of wires already installed. NEA Managing Director Kulman Ghising emphasized that the new infrastructure will significantly enhance electricity supply quality and support Nepal’s cross-border electricity trade.

Currently, the Dhalkebar-Muzaffarpur transmission line can deliver up to 800 MW of electricity to India. Completion of the entire Hetauda-Dhalkebar-Inaruwa line will enable the supply of up to 4,000 MW.

The project, initiated a decade ago and originally scheduled for completion in 30 months, has faced multiple delays. These delays were due to local demands for alignment changes, interim Supreme Court orders, procedural challenges in forested areas, land use issues, tree felling approvals, and contractor performance problems.

The Nepal-India Electricity Transmission and Trade Project is a collaborative effort between the government and the NEA, with the World Bank providing concessional loans. The total project cost is estimated at $170 million.

The completion of the Dhalkebar-Inaruwa transmission line marks a significant milestone in Nepal’s efforts to enhance its electricity infrastructure and foster cross-border energy trade with India.

Fiscal Nepal |
Tuesday June 11, 2024, 08:02:53 AM |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *