Rajendra Lingden defeats Kamal Thapa to become the new RPP chair

KATHMANDU: Rajendra Lingden has been elected as the chairman of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP). Presidential candidate Kamal Thapa has accepted his defeat and congratulated Linden.

Thapa wrote on social media, “I gladly accept the defeat in the election for the post of RPP chairperson, embracing democratic values ​​and beliefs.” Congratulations and best wishes to the newly elected Chairman Rajendra Lingden. ‘

During the election held on Saturday, Lingden, the only representative of the party in the federal parliament, defeated powerful Kamal Thapa, multiple-time deputy prime minister of the country, by a margin of over 200 votes.

In other positions, however, pro-Thapa leaders have registered victories. Buddhiman Tamang, Dhruba Bahadur Pradhan and Roshan Karki have won positions of vice-chairpersons whereas Bhuwan Pathak and Kunti Kumari Shahi have been elected general secretaries.

Bikram Pandey and Dhawal Shamsher Rana from the Lingden panel won elections for the position of vice-chairperson and general secretary respectively.


Fiscal Nepal |
Sunday December 5, 2021, 02:46:36 PM |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *